Wednesday, March 4, 2009

San Antonio Spurs NBA Sport

San Antonio Spurs NBA Sport
The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team based in San Antonio, Texas. They play in the National Basketball Association (NBA).
The Spurs are one of four former American Basketball Association teams (along with the Nets, Pacers, and Nuggets) to remain intact in the NBA after the 1976 ABA-NBA merger and is the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship, which they have done four times. As of July 2008, the Spurs rank third among active franchises for the highest winning percentage in NBA history. With the 2007 sweep, the Spurs have the second highest winning percentage in NBA Finals history. They have only missed the playoffs 4 times as an NBA franchise.

In their 32 NBA seasons, since 1976–1977, the Spurs have captured 15 division titles, which gives the Spurs the most division titles in the NBA during that 32-year span (the Lakers are second with 14). Among the four major U.S. sports, the Atlanta Braves and the New York Yankees are the only other teams with 15 divisional titles during the last 32 years. The Pittsburgh Steelers have 16 division titles during that time period.